Rich People Problems

PROBLEM NO. 1

Your regular table at the fabulous restaurant on the exclusive island where you own a beach house is unavailable.

Follow up from Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend, now with even some issues that everyone that isn’t a billionaire or millionaire could relate to. Maybe.

Does one read books of these series for recognising situations from their own lives? Probably not. Bring in the details about the clothes, the planes, the houses, the spending.

Again, there’s so many characters that the genealogy in front of the book can be helpful. The author ramps up the amount of notes as well, this time using them (more often) to comment, instead of to explain. But in between all of that is a brightly coloured, very expensive (looking) story full of dramatics and diamonds. It’s silly, it’s superficial, it’s quite delicious (especially in between Year of Wonders and writing essays about The Catcher in the Rye).

Rich People Problems, Kevin Kwan, Doubleday 2017

A Window Opens

I drag my suitcase out from under the bed and start packing.

Eentje die niet op De Lijst stond maar mijn aandacht trok met de cover en blurb ‘voor fans van Where’d You Go, Bernadette‘. Daar ben ik het maar een heel klein beetje mee eens, trouwens. De kaftkleuren komen nog het meest overeen. A Window Opens is voor fans van boeken, lezen en vrouwelijke karakters die het wagen menselijk te zijn.

Voor Alice (eind dertig, man, drie kinderen, part time baan) gaat alles heel redelijk, tot er voor financiële redenen een nieuwe baan gevonden moet worden. Eerst lijkt de perfecte gevonden te zijn, en snel ook. Vervolgens beginnen andere categoriën in haar leven uit elkaar te vallen.

Dit is geen boek anti-werkende moeders of een lofzang voor minder werken en meer leven. Dit is Alice’s verhaal en zij leert wat wel en niet voor haar werkt. Met en lekkere sneer naar nieuwe start-ups die altijd boeken lijken te haten.
Het is chick-lit zoals elk navelstarend manspersoonboek dude-lit is, hier zijn de karakters alleen (veel) beter ingekleurd dan bij de zwakkeren in het genre. Alice lives and learns, en al zijn het geen mindblowing lessen, ze zijn wel van het soort dat niet vaak genoeg herhaald kan worden.

Een fijn boek gewoon, klip en klaar.

A Window Opens, Elisabeth Egan, Simon & Schuster 2015

We Never Asked For Wings

It wasn’t too late to turn back.

I fell for it, hook, line, and sinker. A new book? From the Express Collection (meaning you have to read it in one week so everybody gets a chance)? A New York Times bestselling author? This would put me on the book of my read-better-books resolution, wouldn’t it? What a rookie mistake.

We Never Asked For Wings isn’t a horrible, bad, ugly book, it’s simply closer to the Happy Family trope of any Harlequin book than literature with a capital L. Which is fine, but what I had not set out for. With a plot about an absent mother having to returning to her children because her Mexican parents leave, the threat of poverty and deportation ever present elements in their lives, I was ready for some lessons I’d never experience in my privileged world. Sure, there was mention of a “She Will Have To Chose” plot line, but love doesn’t necessarily pulls down the quality of a novel.

The easy shocks and the quick solutions, the dramatic turns that are neatly tied up in the next chapter, the annoying, two-dimensional characters, do. It felt like I was reading a beginner’s steps into telenovela writing. Entertaining but flat.

This just shows you can’t even trust librarians these days. Maybe I should have gone for The Marriage of Opposites after all.

We Never Asked For Wings, Vanessa Diffenbaugh, Ballantine Books 2015

 

The Age of Innocence

On a January evening of the early seventies, Christine Nilsson was singing in Faust at the Academy of Music in New York.

Het was weer eens tijd voor een klassieker. En omdat ik graag vrouwen in de literatuur steun (en het toneelstuk kende door een Gossip Girl aflevering), viel mijn oog op deze.

Zoals veel “oude” verhalen, gaat het helemaal over high society, low society en society. Wie doet wat en waarom en hoe durven ze het om zo’n schaamte te zijn voor hun familie/familienaam/omgeving. Wat misschien wel een twist is dat de hoofdpersoon deze keer een man is, in plaats van een jongedame.

Een oude bekende verlaat haar man en komt vanuit Europa terug naar New York. De hoofdpersoon is enthralled, maar al verloofd. En Ellen is tenslotte toch nog getrouwd, want scheiden is niet netjes. Terwijl we in een tijd leven waarin we nog met nadruk boeken met mannelijke emoties ‘manlit’ noemen, was Edith Wharton haar tijd ver vooruit. Elke twijfel over prestige, imago en samenleving komen langs.

En ze verrast ook met de verloop van het verhaal, waardoor in een zee van ‘Zo was het leven in eeuw [X]’, The Age of Innocence er toch echt uitspringt.

The Age of Innocence, Edith Wharton, Penguin Books 1920

‘… and that’s when it fell off in my hand.’

Grey skies, grey cluds, grey knickers.

Dit is geen hoogstaande literatuur, dit is niet gevuld met diepgaande gedachten en pijnlijk mooie zinnen. De Georgia Nicholson boeken waren chick lit voor de term mainstream was, waren YA voor de term zelfs bestond. Het laat zien dat vrouwelijke tieners ook lelijke, idiote, arrogante, opgewonden gedachten kunnen hebben. En dat allemaal op een hele melige manier.

Tiener Georgia heeft het natuurlijk heel zwaar met alles. Haar idiote gezin, haar lief, haar vriendinnen, school, en de liefde. Dit behandelt ze in dagboekvorm met een hele eigen taal. Sadnosity voor verdriet, nunga-nungas voor borsten, en de echte knappe mannen zijn Sex Gods. Georgia censureert zichzelf geen moment en dat maakt haar stukken realistischer dan elke “held” in hedendaagse tienerverhalen.

Maar dan wel realistisch op de ‘dit is een tiener’ manier, verder gebeuren er zoveel dingen en zijn er zulke vreemde karaketrs dat je je af en toe afvraagt of je niet in één grote satire bent beland. Tot er weer zoiets kroms en meligs gebeurt dat je weet dat je je geen zorgen hoeft te maken: dit is gewoon een geweldig giechelboek.

‘… and that’s when it fell off in my hand.’, Louise Rennison, HarperCollins 2004

Crazy Rich Asians

Nicholas Young slumped into the nearest seat in the hotel lobby, drained from the sixteen-hour flight from Singapore, the train ride from Heathrow Airport, and trudging through the rain-soaked streets.

Everything is completely and utterly superficial and it is delicious. Sometimes you just need such a story, or at least, I do.

Yes, there are a few stories about love, loss and family in this novel, but they are covered by details about clothing, apartments, furniture, buildings, ways of travel (so many private yet), surroundings and people. And the clothes they wear. It’s like a fancy advertisement guide where all the pictures are replaced by descriptions. The huge family tree on the first pages of the book isn’t really necessary, the characters are all show models anyway.

Kwan still manages to keep up a great speed and enough soap-dramatic turns to keep the reader busy and eager. As one of the blurbs on the cover already put it “Dallas in extrema”. If you want that AND crazy detailed descriptions about rooms plastered with gold, this is your book.

Crazy Rich Asians, Kevin Kwan, Corvus 2013

two way street

I’m a traitor to my generation.

The feminist side of me cringed several times about the clichés on how men and women should act, the little super romantic teen inside me could only squeal with pleasure with every high school dream that came true. two way street is not up there with other recent YA I read, but definitely entertaining enough for a quick summer read.

Courtney is going on a road trip to her college. With her ex-boyfriend. Of course when all this was planned he wasn’t an ex, there was no MySpace girl he broke up with her for and she thought she had a happy life. Now it’s hurt feelings, trying hard not to show those feelings and all the annoying quirks you can only like in a loved one. Locked up in a car.

Of course things aren’t completely what they seem and is the ex-boyfriend not the bad guy. The ending is a bit abrupt, but the fuzzy feelings will probably linger.

two way street, Lauren Barnholdt, Simon Pulse 2007